The HSL area is divided into four zones, identified by the letters A, B, C and D, spreading out from the center of Helsinki. Ticket prices are based on the distance traveled, i.e. on the distance from the center of Helsinki.

Helsinki, Espoo, Kauniainen and Vantaa will be located in zones A, B and C, Kerava, Sipoo, Tuusula, Kirkkonummi and Siuntio in zone D.


What ticket will I need?

Before buying a ticket, check the zones you travel through and select a ticket that is valid for all of the zones.

In Helsinki, Espoo, Kauniainen and Vantaa, i.e. in zones A, B and C, you need an AB or BC ticket, depending on the area you travel in. NB! There are no one-zone tickets for zones A, B and C.

In addition, you can buy an ABC, BCD, CD or ABCD tickets, as well as a one-zone ticket for outermost zone D.

Zone extension ticket

If you have a season ticket, you can expand your travel area at a low cost by buying a zone extension ticket. You can pay the ticket either by HSL card or via the HSL app, depending on how you have purchased your season ticket.

For example, if you are going to Helsinki Airport and you have an AB season ticket, you can buy an extension ticket for zone C.