HSL area and zones

The HSL area consists of Helsinki, Espoo, Vantaa, Kauniainen, Siuntio, Kirkkonummi, Sipoo, Kerava and Tuusula.

The HSL area is divided into four zones, identified by letters A, B, C and D, spreading out from the center of Helsinki.

Which ticket do I need?

Before buying a ticket, check the zones you travel through and buy a ticket accordingly.

In Helsinki, Espoo, Kauniainen and Vantaa, i.e. in zones A, B and C, you need an AB or BC ticket, depending on the area you travel in. NB! There are no one-zone tickets for zones A, B and C.

You can see the zone boundaries on a map in the route search. The route search also tells you which ticket you need for your journey.

Zone extension tickets

If you have a season ticket, you can inexpensively expand its validity area by buying a zone extension ticket.

Neighboring municipalities

Residents of the neighboring municipalities can buy season tickets at the same price as residents of the HSL area. Correspondingly, residents of the HSL municipalities can purchase commuter tickets for some of the neighboring municipalities.